mollyblack (mollyblack) wrote,
mollyblack
mollyblack

Posted for assistance - I'm having a bit of a dizzy spell so I hope it's ok!

Hi there!

Please read this ad very carefully.

Furnished bedroom available from December 15, 2011 through January 7, 2012. Rent is not money but for you to assist me during the three weeks my current roommate/assistant has promised to a good friend.

The situation: I'm a 42-year-old woman with a permanent disability who has Fibromyalgia, Addison's Disease, and other assorted health issues which allows me little ease. Prefer a person who loves animals, has a valid drivers license, somebody who loves loves loves dogs and is either a vegetarian or plays one at home with no regrets for missed home-cooked bacon. ;-)

The care of me is not onerous. I need assistance scheduling and handling doctors and their appointments, running errands, doing shopping, and light cooking (I normally do not eat very much). Going with me to the doctors and assisting me in getting around with my rollator is another aspect. I have a Prius for transportation.

Having your own life is very important, I know, and this is basically part-time every day, but working around your schedule is a given. I have good days where I can walk the dogs, and I have bad days where I can barely get out of bed.

As far as rent goes, my current roommate/assistant and I worked it out and it equals between days where it's $7/hr and days where it's $20/hr. In truth though it balances out to about $10/hr on average.

I have two friendly cats (that I'm allergic to) and two small dogs that need walking. Ones a Pembroke Welsh Corgi and the other a Miniature Dachshund.

Your shared housing is a two-bed, one-bath apartment in the Piedmont area of Oakland. It is quite lovely and there is a stream down the street, as well as a large park within a few blocks.

BART is also quite close, as is a Whole Foods, Safeway, Walgreens, and even a USPS. Very central while still remaining quiet and peaceful.

If you need a place to stay and can see yourself taking care of somebody who needs peace & quiet & as little drama as possible please get in touch. Walking dogs should be a treat, or at least a chore you find enjoyable. If you have a small one of your own it will make for a tight squeeze, but if all pets get along it will be okay.

To make life easier I think a vegetarian might be happier in the situation since all cookware, silverware, and plates have never been touched by meat and I keep the house veggie. Part of the problem is I have a very high scent sensitivity and meat/fish can cause completely debilitating nausea.

Once again: Rent & utilities in exchange or care and assistance. The room is nice and fairly good-sized and the neighborhood is central and quiet.

The things to do? A list of what I need in an assistant/helper:

Schedule doctor appointments
Run errands such as food shopping, the medicinal dispensary, and such necessities as come up
Make certain I eat at least two times a day.
Cook for me (very easy due to my light diet), make sure I have plenty of water, and keep track of my eating
Make certain I take my medications
Fill medication pill box once a week.
Take me to doctor appointments.
Help keep track of doctor visits, questions, med changes, etc.
Help keep apartment clean.
Do laundry
Keep track of my pain levels.
Scoop dirty cat litter daily
Take out garbage & recycling as needed.
Walk the dogs at least three times a day and feed them twice a day.

Subscribe
  • Post a new comment

    Error

    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

  • 0 comments